The Bible vs. The Message

A comparison of The Bible and The Message.

I have read from many versions of the Bible. I have things I like and dislike about some of them. An example would be; I like the way the NIV reads, but I dislike that pronouns referring to God are not capitalized! The pronouns referring to God are capitalized in  the NAS but it doesn’t flow like the NIV. However, the verse numbers are all lined up nicely on the left in my NAS! I really like that! Maybe I’m too picky?

I started seeing and hearing people talking about “The Message” (Eugene H Peterson). I thought it was a new “version” of the Bible and was leery of it. I decided to stay away from it.

Fast forward to a Sunday School class. The women in our church were studying Hebrews. The teacher asked someone to read a passage from Hebrews. WOW it sounded like a powerful rebuke and made me sit up and take notice!

I began looking into getting one. I found out it was a “paraphrase” not a new “version”. Somehow that made it seem less threatening. I was hoping to find a free Kindle version so I could see what it was like without spending money. I couldn’t find a free one. However, I found a hard copy on sale for only $5.00!! I’ll admit the font is a little small but it is readable.

The Message

To give you a taste of it, I will add Psalm 23 from the NIV version of the Bible and then from The Message.

Psalm 23 (NIV)

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me, your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

Psalm 23 (MSG)

God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing. You have bedded me down in lush meadows, you find me quiet pools to drink from, True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction. Even when the way goes through Death Valley, I’m not afraid when you walk by my side. Your trusty shepherd’s crook makes me feel secure. You serve me a six-course dinner right in front of my enemies. You revive my drooping head; my cup brims with blessing. Your beauty and love chase after me every day of my life. I’m back home in the house of God for the rest of my life.

How about Galatians 5:22 & 23? I was preparing for Girls of Grace and wanted to include the “Fruit of the Spirit”.

(NIV) But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.

(MSG) But what happens when we live God’s way? He brings gifts into our lives, much the same way that fruit appears in an orchard–things like affection for others, exuberance about life, serenity. We develop a willingness to stick with things, a sense of compassion in the heart, and a conviction that a basic holiness permeates things and people. We find ourselves in loyal commitments, not needing to force our way in life, able to marshal and direct our energies wisely. Legalism is helpless in bringing this about; it only gets in the way.

The Message seems to give me such a better picture of what the Bible is saying. We are warned in the Bible against adding to or taking away from what is written. I believe that is why I was leery of The Message in the first place. Perhaps because it is not a new version, but a paraphrase of God’s Word, it is safe to read?

I would welcome any feedback you might have about this…Is it “safe” to read?

As much as I have enjoyed reading The Message, I would NEVER suggest that it take the place of the BIBLE! The Bible is still THE ONLY book to treat as the WORD of GOD. It is still the book to study. I’m just saying The Message gives me a wonderful picture of God’s love for me and His desire for me to love others in His love.

Oh…remember that passage from Hebrews that started all of this…

Hebrews 5:11-14 (MSG)

I have a lot more to say about this, but it is hard to get it across to you since you’ve picked up this bad habit of not listening. By this time you ought to be teachers yourselves, yet here I find you need someone to sit down with you and go over the basics on God again, starting from square one–baby’s milk, when you should have been on solid food long ago! Milk is for beginners, inexperienced in God’s ways; solid food is for the mature, who have some practice in telling right from wrong.

Did that make you sit up and take notice the way it did me? I hope so! Break out your BIBLE and get reading, praying, and serving The One who gave you life!

God's Holy Word

This entry was posted in Bible, Comparisons, Girls of Grace, Inspiration, Life Lessons, Light Bulbs, The Message and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bible vs. The Message

  1. Connie feancis says:

    Pam, thanks for sharing! I really like reading the Message parallel to whatever else I’m studying like its presented in biblegateway. Our lesson this Sunday talks about spurring each other on, and encouraging each other. you’ve just done this for me! Connie

  2. Cori D. says:

    How did I miss this post until now?!? I love the Message! But, yeah, always wonder the same things you do. I like Connie’s idea of using it parallel to another version.

    • pamby57 says:

      Funny…I got on here by reading your new blog entries. I thought maybe I should start a new blog and track myself during October…Then I saw I had a new comment…ha ha, haven’t looked at the blog for a VERY long time. And yes, The Message only as a parallel!

Leave a comment