A Random Comparison

A random comparison of the “hard copy” vs. the “Kindle”.

I had been curious about the Kindle for a while. I wasn’t convinced that I would like it. There is something wonderful about getting cozy with a good book. My sister-in-law came for a visit and brought her Kindle along. She is a huge fan of the Kindle. After seeing hers and hearing her talk about it, I was ready to try one! I began hinting to my husband that I wanted one. He was not convinced but snuk in and uploaded one to my laptop!

The Kindle on my laptop

I didn’t realize it but Amazon was offering a FREE Kindle for personal computers! Suddenly I had thousands of book titles to scroll through. Many books are totally free. I got the Bible and a few other books free. I also purchased a few for $.99! This was really fun and I found that for the next couple of weeks I was spending a lot of time reading! Now I do realize it is not a perfect way to compare the hard copy and the Kindle. After all I had the Kindle on my laptop. It’s a tiny laptop, but still a laptop. The Kindle is a lot smaller in size and weight. Still it gave me a good idea of what it was like to read off of a screen. It was fun to discover that you can highlight words or even whole passages quite easily. You can even add notes. It is also very easy to change the font size and how many columns you want on the page. You can even adjust the backround color and lighting. It was fun to think about how many books you could take along with you, wherever you went.

So, all seemed wonderful. Then I found an online Bible Study I wanted to join. It would require me to purchase a book. I found out a Kindle version was available and purchased it. You do save a few dollars buying for the Kindle vs. a hard copy. As I  began the study all seemed good. However,  as time went on and it came time to really study the book and answer questions, I found that I really missed having a book in my hands. It seemed too hard to flip back and forth looking for answers to the questions or to re-read parts I really liked. I ended up ordering a hard copy. Yes, I had to spend more money …BUT…

The Confident Heart

I can not tell I lie…It felt so good to have a “real” book in my hands. It just feels good and it’s nice to be able to flip through it! It just seems easier to actually study from a book I’m holding in my hands.

My conclusion is that the Kindle is an amazing tool! Especially for traveling and reading books strictly for pleasure. However, if you are wanting to  study a book, there is nothing like holding a “real” book in your hands!

This entry was posted in Bible, Comparisons, Inspiration, Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment